top of page

WHEN YOU ARE THE RESOURCE, WHERE IS YOUR HELP?


Have you ever wondered why you continue to be the resource for others, while you seem to have no filling station for your own tank? You are called on to remedy a need, whether physical or emotional when in that same moment you have those needs and more to be met.

At that moment, we must believe in the God that sustains us, consider the source that seeks your resource, and learn the lesson that God is setting you in motion to learn through this experience.

About two weeks ago in my "Higher Ground Fellowship" Class (our version of Sunday School), we discussed some of the elements of Jesus's Sermon on the Mount. After he instructed the assembly of the Beatitudes, he told them about making petitions to God and being sincere and personal in prayer. In Matthew 6 you will find these words:

5And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites. For they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men. Truly I tell you, they already have their full reward. 6But when you pray, go into your inner room, shut your door, and pray to your Father, who is unseen. And your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.

7And when you pray, do not babble on like pagans, for they think that by their many words they will be heard. 8Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask Him.

In that lesson, I must be reminded that although I might be giving from my resource, nothing that I have or possess is mine. It all comes from my Father which art in heaven. The things that I need for my personal enrichment and needs are from that same Father and he will continue to meet my long-term and immediate needs.

Just this morning, after a grateful night where I enjoyed recreation with a few of my brothers in the spirit, I woke up emotionally defeated. There was really no specific reference that I could assign to these feelings. I could say that it was a lot of things. Feelings of inadequacy and incompleteness. Visions of not having enough to perform tasks that I needed was another element that affected my mood. I was also feeling anxious about how I could speed up my career advancement, considering that my age was relative to others who have retired.

In essence, none of this should ever be a concern. Philippians 4:19 tells us "And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus. "

Because I am writing this to a mass population, I must consider that everyone does not know God the way that I do. I am convinced of the fact that he is the one true God. Every word that he promises is what I depend on and trust. So, I must know that as my source he will always supply my needs, while he blesses me with resources sufficient to meet the needs of others.

While I sat in this personal funk, a great friend called me and realized my state of mind. He immediately began to remind me of my blessing and God's awesomeness in the beauty of the day and the way he continues to be my provision. I know that call was designed as a message from God to be strong and confident in the fact that all of my needs are met. Any concern of being inadequate, unprepared, deficient, or lonely are blockers designed to halt progress. I must declare the awesomeness of God and continue walking by his grace. I encourage anyone that is reading this to do the same.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page