top of page

I AM A BLACK MAN IN AMERICA!


Thirty-six years ago as a graduating high school senior, I was given the assignment of writing a final term paper. At that time and in that instant, I was driven to write about black males and their experiences in this country. The title of that paper was "The Emasculation of the Black Male in America". I am not sure why I was so inspired as an 18 y/o to write on such a deep issue. Surely, I knew certain imbalances existed. One thing was certain. I was and am a black man. So, that much of the subject I had covered. What I do remember is an article in Ebony magazine had a very similar topic. It was the only principle reference that I had. In 1984 there were no recent articles that displayed an immediate disparity. What did exist was the inequality factors of employment, admission, and acceptance in certain environments. Sadly, America has changed it's face to outward displays of violence. While so many articles call names and state instances, it is with both respect and reflection that I focus on the fact that the victims of systemic racist displays are too many to count at this point. Because of this fact, people have developed a disdain for the very year we are in. But we must remember that 50 plus years ago this country saw a string of racial violence, inequality, and imbalances as we were led by the vision of Martin Luther King, Jr. in his most notable "I Have a Dream" speech. For that instance only, we must keep our dreams and goals in front of us. We stand on the shoulders of a people who withstood a load of adversity from the 'middle passage" to slavery, to 'Jim Crow' to Civil Rights. Yes, we are generations removed from much of that. But, it is on the shoulders of their legacies that we are able to have the opportunities that we do.


As I began writing this entry, I reflected on my present situation. I realize that myself, my brothers, sisters, and fellow Americans find ourselves navigating this sudden pandemic and much loss of life prior to and during this hurricane season. It is my hope that the greater good prevails in all things. But, I certainly thank God for all he is doing and has done in the lives of everyone.

My mom used to say "Life is too short"; and I can attest that is definitely is. Too short to attack, complain, dislike, hate, hurt, or complain. I challenge anyone reading, do what you can to become the best version of yourself, whatever that looks like to you. Better health, better spirit, and better provisions is what it means to me. So much is happening. I had to get it out.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page